Google will destroy user data collected in Incognito mode

--

Google has reached a settlement in which it agreed to delete or depersonalize billions of records of Internet browsing data collected while users were in private “incognito” mode. If the court approves the settlement, it will directly affect only US users.

The US technology company is trying to settle a lawsuit that in 2020 filed by Google account holders who accused the company of illegally tracking their behavior using Chrome’s private browsing feature. The plaintiffs and Google have reached a settlement, but it will have to be approved by a federal court in California.

Google and incognito mode

The proposed settlement also requires Google to disclose more about how it collects information in incognito mode and to set a cap on future data collection. All data that cannot be completely deleted must be anonymized.

The company also agreed to a number of other changes that affect user privacy. For example, Google will allow incognito mode to block third-party cookies by default for five years, so that the browser cannot track users on external websites when they are in private mode. It is not yet known if these changes will only affect US users or if the apps will be changed in general.

The settlement provides “true accountability and transparency for the world’s largest data collector and is an important step toward improving and protecting the right to online privacy,” the plaintiffs said in a statement about the settlement. For its part, Google said that the company is “pleased to resolve this lawsuit, which in its view has always been without merit.”

“We never associate data with users when they are in incognito mode,” added Castañeda. “We are happy to delete old technical data that has never been linked to an individual and has not been used for any personalization.

The article is in Lithuanian

Tags: Google destroy user data collected Incognito mode

-

PREV Iran also warned Russia about the threat of a terrorist attack
NEXT Google has agreed to delete some user data